A weekend of cupcakes

Hello friends. 

How is your week treating you? Aren’t you glad it’s Wednesday? I am…halfway through the week, wooo! Remember my post from last week where I mentioned I had to bake for two parties on the weekend? Well, I survived (clearly) and had a blast doing it!

 

My first baking project was for my cousin’s baby shower on the Saturday. In this post I shared that I would be making blue velvet cupcakes. I did make them (with a new velvet cupcake recipe) and generously topped them with a great cream cheese frosting.

The blue and white fondant discs (featured in the link above) finished them off nicely.

I know I said I’d post pictures of them… but I didn’t get a chance to take any. Sorry guys, you’ll have to use your imagination on this one.

Anyway, they seemed to be a big hit with the kids.

 

My second baking project was for my cousin’s baby’s 1st birthday party on the Sunday.

Being a little girl, I had to make it pink overload. I had an idea to create mini doughnuts as cupcake toppers. I bought a mini doughnut pan, followed the recipe on the packaging and proceeded to make the cutest little doughnuts ever!

Vanilla cupcakes with pink butter cream frosting were topped with the chocolate dipped, sprinkle laden doughnuts.

IMG_20130916_043952

I must say, these were my favourite! They were tasty and so pretty. I love when first time attempts work out well.

What do you think? How cute are these doughnuts? I like that they are baked and not fried. I’ll definitely be making them again.

 

Till’ then!

 

2 thoughts on “A weekend of cupcakes

Leave a Reply

